The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

Its an old adage since Darwinian times that nature follows the law of survival of the fittest which indeed is true. It is hard to recall of a case where the most successful or the powerful magnate of any industry-be it politics, industry, government etc-did not hold an innate sense of competition. As a winner is the one who doesn't perish in howsoever difficult circumstances, unlike other mediocre blokes who give in to adversities, it is mandatory to instil a fierce and sportsman-like sense of competition; keeping love for humanity atop the moral hierarchy.

The world of industry gives a clear cut picture; you need to possess cutting edge technology bringing unique products and services to the customers at the best possilble price range. This necessitates the requirement to be fiercely competitive with rival companies and have an upper-hand to survive in the market. Consider the pathbreaking instance of Reliance Jio Telecom industries in the Indian markets. Within a year of announcing its phantasmagorical schemes, it garnered a whooping 20 million customer base with a Jio flagship, sending the competing telecom companies to ruins. The only possible ways for their rivals to get back the previous market share was to pull up their socks and improve their plans to sustain in the telecom environment. Clearly, if the youth of our society does not get ultra-competitive in industry, their adversaries will and push them out of business.

Furthermore, the case of government and politics is not too disparate either. Stepping up the ladder of bureaucracy requires not only an illustrious display of relevant work and dedication, but more so the skill to deal with powerful figures, manipulating or toadying them at times, and also denigrating the deserving candidates to throw them out of competition-which is immoral nevertheless. Instilling only a sense of cooperation in the younger kids, will no doubt make them able citizens who can make an impact globally. But without a skill of bootstrapping oneself up, an average bloke is likely to stay unsatisified with his accomplishments due to unfulfilled potential. Thus, the spirit of competitiveness is a fundamental prerequisite to lead a successful life.

Although, it is not to say that the individuals need to categorically shun away the cooperative attitude towards their fellowmates. In this world of exponential growth, it is seemlingly impossible to keep abreast of all the developments, let alone to master these new sophisticated skills. To make a significant impact on the world, thus susequently requires us to partner with like minded people following a similar goal and progressing together. A sense of togetherness, adjusting with people of different choices than ours is again a skill that has to be consciously acquired, which takes time and effort. Hence, in order to be happy and at the top of the game necessitates the sense of cooperation with other citizens of the society as well as the outsiders.

In sum, the sense of competition is not a skill that one can do away with to compete or even survive in this tough world. Though, it is of paramount importance to learn to comply with other people as well as be competitive to adjust seamlessly in the modern world. As the popular American president said, "Don't pray for easy lives, instead be stronger men".