The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Everyone aims to become a leader sometime during his career. However we see that not everybody turns out to be a good leader who is praised by not just his bosses but also admired by his sub-ordinates. Leader who doesn't just give orders or assign the tasks to his team members but is always there to help his team and hear them out when needed is the one to be considered as idol for his team members. So the author's claim that the best way to imbibe leadership skills in the young people by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition is very much acceptable and logical.

If a person is able to work with his team, he is able to judge the qualities of every person and assign the task accordingly then he can surely complete any assignment efficiently with the cooperation of his team. Team memebrs feel comfortable and happy if thier leader is available to listen thier problems and he is available to cooperate with them and provide suggestions in the time of need. This helps team member to work effectively and efficiently. Instead, if a team leader is only trying to be competent with the other people of his level then he might tend putting pressure on his team members to strive harder, he might end up asking them to work on weekends which would bring sense of unsatisfaction in the minds of his team members. Team members would not get time to get refreshed, they would always feel intimidated by their leader's demands and as a result may fail to deliver as per their capabilities.

Consider example of Indian Maratha warrior Chathrapati Shivaji Maharaj who was just not an emporer but a worshiped leader who was always praised by everybody of his kingdom. He was always taught to work with the team with cooperation, he was always given lessens of giving preferece to his kingdom's people first from his early days by his mother. Eventually, he turned out to be one of the greatest warrior who was equally great leader.

If a child is always asked to come first in the class then he might become too much competitive who might not like to help his friends with the studies or anything. He might just strive to stand out in his friends. He might not understand that he alone cannot run the society, industry or any field. A child need to understand that it's an entire team and cooperation among the team which leads to the perfect result. Without cooperation team may not be able to perfrom and cater to the task requirements.

However, a young people should not give up on the quality of any task, they should have healthy and moderate level of sense of competition to get the best outcome while working as a team and as a united group.

Hence, looking at the benifits of working as a team and cooperation, if young people are taught with the sense of cooperation from the early days then it would help to have great leaders in government, idustry or any field who would be moderatey competitive but would always take along their team with them to the peak of success.