Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

The basic tenets of morality and logical reasoning are really very different. So much, as they may appear to be disparate forms of philosophies. Moral studies combine the knowledge of wise saints, thinkers, spiritual gurus to be passed on to neophytes in a didactic fashion. The popular forms of teaching moral science is a doctrinaire method, where pupils learn and recite the texts from the book in the form of allegories, anecdotes and fables. Whereas logical reasoning is a rational school of thought applicable to all fields of existing human understanding, and beyond. Objectivity is an inherent characteristic of reasoning.

Imbibing ultimate knowledge through moral preachings seems infeasible. To become a complete individual, in order to possess the judgement of right and wrong, one must become a well-rounded learned scholar. There is little impact of such a kind that rote learning of a few scriptures and sagacious quotations from the past provides with. In contrast, having the foundation of a reasoning seems to be much more promising. Well reasoned citizens have a keen insight about the broad spectrum of what is moral or immoral; also, the fine distinction between the nuances of virtuousness. It is this deductive power that the logical reasoning endows its followers with that is indispensable.

Granted that inculcating esteemed values in aid with moral teachings produces honorable mindsets, but the distinction of what is moral and what is not, remains in the hands of the instructor. If a moral mode of teaching is applied in society, the countably few headmasters are going to have a huge amount of power to mould the youth: who ultimately direct the course of a nation's progress. It would be a state of quandary to determine a proper syllabus for teaching. In contrast, this issue does not arise with the teaching of logical reasoning on the whole; as it is a syllogism, a study of causality.

Nevertheless, claiming endorsing the sole teaching of logical reasoning would be going too far. Good moral values inculcated from an early age serves to produce compassionate, respectable people in the future. What a kid absorbs in the early stages of a life becomes a permanent accomplice for his lifetime, thus, it would be beneficial if students learn few high held principles in the nurturing period.

In essence, laying moral science as the foundation of education shall not serve the purpose of producing a moral society. What it does not provide is the nuances, which is given by the reason