Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

The pretentious life of a show-off revolves largely around false-pride and vanity. Vainglorious individuals direct all the attention and the efforts in the hope of impressing the other people. Not only do they try to display gaudy facade to their overall life, but also trying to cover their blemishes is a major concern. Devoting a life to a materialistic indulgence: luxury cars, large mansions, trendy apparels, association with the aristocrats are some of attempts of an appealing charm.

The case of celebrities is a prime example. Undergoing facial surgeries, reconstruction techniques, heavy cosmetic make-ups paired with ostentatious clothing and ornaments is a daily routine for these stars. A tv star walking through a park in loose pyjamas is a situation unthought of. The response of the public is partly responsible for the mannerisms adopted by these showy people; the traditions displayed by these popular personalities is acknowledged and lionized, by large. Granted that it behooves them to be in good shape round the clock, but judging them only by the virtue of their appurtenances is parochial. What this leads to is an ignorance of the real values.

In addition to the appealing life of renowned personas, the case of peer pressure among kids also has the same underpinning. It is not baffling to find teenagers using latest iPhones, cycling $200 bikes apart from owning a variety of other high end gadgets. This creates a sense of need in the peers as well, to approach life in a similar fashion; disregarding the more important needs of the time, viz. education and learning.

Though, it is true that many follow and cater to the life of charms, but there is a silverlining too. Consider the CEO of Facebook Inc. as an example. Mark Zuckerberg wears the same gray t-shirt everyday; and why does he do that-because it saves him time! This is real value, focussing on the things that matter, instead of superficial and wishful thinking. There are numerous examples of people who have their own code and principles, who give priority to the length and breadth of things rather than a tangential approach.

In essence, the budding inclination of the contemporary society towards appeals and charms is a matter of concern. Discarding the crux for the shiny layer never serves good. Significant change comes from the right from the grassroot, and will take time and the collective efforts of many. Hoping that the ideology of analysing subjects in detail shall be prevalent and highly regarded, we can hope for a better future for mankind.