A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

The presented passage takes issue to the lower levels of tooth decay in children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal compared to children living in suburban areas in the United States despite having much lesser dental care compared to the people in suburban areas of United States. Thus, the passage concludes that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Although the claim might have merit, it make several questionable premises and assumptions, relies on a improbable explanation based on an ambiguous study and thus, cannot be taken as valid.

The primary issue with the argument is the lack of substantiation. The study fails to mention any links of whether the sample population considered was representative of both the populations of United States and the Himalayan regions in Nepal. It might be the case that the sample size was small enough to make any reasonable conclusion. Perhaps, the people considered for the study were not picked randomly, accounting to the bias observed in the study results.

In addition, there has been no mention of the dental care facilities that people in suburban areas in the United States were using. An alternative explanation of the study results could be that only the richer section of the society were using this facility. Or perhaps, not everyone was visiting the dentist regularly and the overall average dentist visit counted to 1.25 for the entire population. Furthermore, the proficiency of the orthodontists has to be brought into question. If these doctors were competent enough to treat their patients, they might have done nothing significant in order to prevent tooth decay. Perhaps, all they did was rinsing the patients's mouth with soapy water and visit them a year later.

Finally, a host of other factors could have contributed to the apparent discrepancy in the differential levels of tooth decay. The lifestyle of the Americans might be the relevant factor: eating processed sugary foods and beverages that stick on the teeth; compounded by irregular brushing of teeth and poor oral hygiene. Higher fluoride levels or other affecting chemicals in water in America might be the culprit for deteriorating oral health. Perhaps, the genetics favor the people living in Himalayan regions to impart healthier tooth and gums. These mountain regions are known for the potent effects of their medicinal herbs. Consuming them properly might be attributed to the observed salubrious state of the Himalayan kids compared to the Western children in America.

In sum, there are a host of possibilities that can be relevant in explaining the overall study. To improve the argument, the author must rephrase his argument, consider alternative routes for logical deduction, and provide conclusive evidence to give a sound footing to his claim.