The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since

The owner of the Movies Galore movie-rental store recieves in his memorandum a reccomendation to increase his profits of the movie chain by closing early and eleminating movie stocks that are older than 5 years. Writer of this argument bases his cites the improvement in one of the ten rental stores which experimented this heuristic, as a support. Only one instance of the success of this formula is the pillar of his assertion. Though his claim may have merit, the thesis is largely built on questionable premises and assumptions, also lacking any considerable basis. The argument presented is flismy and fails to provide a cogent analysis.

The author's premise rests on unwarranted claims. He reasons that the operating expenses must be reduced to increase the profits of the movie stores. Is that the only way, or the way-to-go? Shouldn't the store opt for expansion schemes, it having a good rap among the buyers? Also, is there any obvious flaws in the services provided to the customers, depleted collection of products, or lacking versitality has to be answered firsthand. The cause of the plummeting profits has to be diagnosed, before jumping to draw any conclusions.

On top of the vague assumptions made by the speaker, he suggests that increasing rental prices might sabotage the brand name of Movies Galore stores, because of its repute for being special bargains. Well, if the chain has a good name, and the services are truly liked by the people, charging a premium won't hurt many, not the affluent ones atleast. Or is the case that the brand is popular only because it is cheap and affordable with a lacklustre collection of movies? If this is so the case, then the idea might be heedful. In addition, if the store is more suitable for an avergae bloke, then the cause of decline in profits might be imputed to the fact of increasing competition. Is the movie-rental market in a fray? Decreasing working hours and eliminating stocks while vying for market capitalisation would be an impolitic move.

In addition to the unwarranted justifications and unanswered queries critical to the finance and competition of the chain store, a single proof of the improvement in profits has been presented. Does a single occurence validate the above claim? Was closing stores and removing archaic movie collection the only cause of improving prices? Perhaps, a trend for movie watching is on the go, or the recently hired sales and marketing staff is outperforming the dwindling profits, or both of them. Is the locality of this Galore movie-store undergoing renovation, or a new mall being constructed driving a larger customer base to the store? Nevertheless, all ten stores couldn't possibly be alike in all respects - localities, exact viewership demographics, working staff, collections of products. What works in one case may not in other.

In sum, the writer's take on the issue is insular, suffering from unproven assumptions, without dependable substantiations. To appeal on any reader on average, he must rephrase the argument, provide relvant justifications for his underlying hypothesis, and fix the logical flaws in his critique. Otherwise, it is unlikely to convince the owner that using shortened working hours at all movie rental stores and elimination of older movies is going to increase the profits.