The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that by reducing all the store’s hours and reducing its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago as it did in a store in downtown Marston, Movies Galore stores would be able to improve its profits. There is a lot of evidence that is needed to evaluate the argument and for its prediction to come true.

According to the memorandum, the timings of the store should be reduced to 6:00 pm instead of 9:00 pm, but it may be possible that people may be visiting the store more between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm and there could be a loss instead of profit. Only because it worked in downtown Marston it does not mean that it would work in all the stores. The store in Marston is in downtown, so mostly people come there for work which could be why there would be few customers between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm. However the other stores of Movies Galore could be near residential areas where there could be more customers between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm and if it is so, then Movies Galore may find themselves having a loss instead of profit.

The argument also states that Movies Galore should reduce its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. This worked in the store in downtown Marston so they assume that it would work in all other stores as well. It is possible that because the store is in downtown, younger people come to that store and so most did not complain about this new policy. Movies Galore needs to check how many customers rent DVDs that released more than five years ago. If the number is less, then they should go ahead but if the number is high then they should rethink the strategy.

The strategy worked in downtown Marston but it may not work in all the stores. All the stores are in different localities which makes a lot of difference. It depends on the localities at what time more customers visit and what type of movies they enjoy watching. The timings of the stores should be decided according to the locality. Movies Galore also needs to see how many customers visit the downtown Marston store. It could be that very few people visit the store which may be why there have been few complains.

There is a lot of evidence that is needed to get more profit for Movies Galore stores. Had the argument stated the number of customers that visit the store between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm and how many people rent movies that were released before five years, the argument would have been more convincing.