Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

There are a lot of homeless people begging for money that we see on the street. I believe that it is wrong to give them money because they can work and earn for themselves instead of begging for money. I think this for two reasons which I will explore in my essay.

We all hear a lot of news about people who kidnap children and force them to beg. This is a business for them. If we take pity on the children and keep giving money to them, the business will go on. So I believe that we should not give money to these children. Whenever I find such a child begging for money, instead of money I always give them food. So that way, the money does not go his employer who forces him to beg and that child has something to fill his stomach.

There are adults who beg for money also. I never give them money or food because it encourages them to continue begging. Instead of begging they can work and earn money but they choose not to do that because they are getting money sitting, doing nothing. For example, I know a friend who would give money to the beggars she say on the street. There was one particular beggar who lived near her house and she would regularly give him money. One day, she asked him why he did not work instead of begging. He replied that if he worked, he would get only a little more than what he got from begging and the work was physically straining and he felt it was better to sit and beg for money. That day my friend realized that people do not only beg because they cannot do anything but they are looking for an easy way out.

In conclusion, I believe that people should not give money to beggars on street because it encourages them to take the easy way out instead of working hard and if the beggars are children then they may be stuck in a begging racket and giving money to them would be wrong as the money would go to their employer and not them.