Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Most people agree that the number of beggars has increased dramatically in the last couple of years, and the Coronavirus pandemic has worsened the situation. Personally, I believe that people should not give money to beggars. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, giving money to beggars will never teach them how to be independent and self-sufficient. Usually, beggars ask for money on the streets because they find it easy to get money. They will continue on this way because they find it effortless and profitable. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student in University, there was a child who used to ask for money on the street. Many students felt sorry about his health conditions, so they usually gave him money. Therefore, this child stayed on the streets for years, asking for money, and he never thought about finding a job and depending on himself. So, giving money to beggars will encourage them to stay on the streets and beg for money all their life.

Furthermore, the increase of beggars' number will increase the crime on the streets. The number of beggars and homeless has rocketed due to the challenging economic situation in the world. This case will enhance the crime on the streets, especially in the big cities. For instance, in the last two years, many people in my country lost their jobs due to the pandemic. This situation forced many people to ask for money on the streets and become homeless. And the one can notice that the crimes from murdering to stealing have risen noticeably in my city.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that it is wrong to give beggars money. This is because of the increase in crime rate on the streets, and giving money to beggars on the streets will never help them be self-sufficient.