34. The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from t

Regulating work enivronment for a company is a major challenge. They need to find a sweet spot where the productivity is high enough, and such that the employees are still enjoying the assigned tasks, so that they perform optimally. In the preceding recommmendation sent to the President of the Climpson Industries, the author proposes to employ implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations to ramp up the productivity. Though the argument may have merit, the poorly reasoned argument relies on questionable premises and assumptions, lacks any evidentiary support, and based solely on the basis of the thesis, is invalid.

The primary issue of the argument is the lack of supporting proofs. Has the hypothesized measure for ramping up the productivity by checking the Internet usage of employee's shown promise in other similar companies, now or in the past, or in any domain whatsoever? An inherent assumption made by the author is that unchecked the Internet usage of the workers is the main cause of low-or unsatisfactory-current performance of the company. There is no mention of the prevailing market conditions; perhaps, an unfavorable market is impeding the growth of the Climpson Industries, and therefore the revenue. Also, the performance of the managers and the board of directors has not been mentioned. If the top-tier of the company is shirking their share of work, or underperforming, that is more significantly hurting the gains of the enterprise than the working population. The lack of substantiatory evidence weakens the presented argument.

Apart from lacking support in favor, the argument relies on vague premises and asumptions made by the author. The assumption that a employee is enjoying in the office if he is surfing through shopping websites might not hold true. Ordering supplies for the companies, getting broken parts repaired and arranging for maintenance of the installed machineries is a part and parcel of an industry. Also, it is fairly plausible that a person is going through these websites is not wasting time; his other tasks might be in a queue for approval by other departments or personnels, his code running, and hence, he currently has no outstanding jobs. Simply utilizing one's time at the time by multitasking is appreciable, rather than deprecatory.

Granted that the offered recommendation lacks proper structure and reasoning, it is not t say that the entire argument is without merit. It is a reasonable measure to regulate Internet usage when trying to improve he productivity of the company. Accompanying implications of such a change has to be offered too, in order to bolster the argument.

In addition, the writer assumes that Internet monitoring of other employees is covered under the law, and it does not violate the penal code of conduct. This has to verified because of the ever-changing norms of the data regulation policies.

In sum, the illogical argument offered by the writer is poorly constructed. To convince the president of his viewpoint, the writer must rephrase the argument, fix the flaws, provide justification for his assumptions and substantiate his claim. Without these emendments, his tepid thesis is likely to persuade the reader.