Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

There are various approaches when it comes to discussing any particular subject. The issue with subjective tasks is that finding dissension is not rare. Differing individuals have seemingly disparate views of the same matter of discussion, taking numerous techniques to reason their claim, and more importantly quite different intentions. It has to be conceded undoubtedly that viewing scrutinizing an argument leads to a better understanding of the argument itself, the underpinnings in which it rests and also limitations present inherently. A whole lot of assumptions and flaws that were implicit or latent previously come to notice after heedful inquisition of the claim offered.

Although, considering the claim that the supreme way to test an argument is by convincing the opposing party seems pretty reasonable, it might not be embodied in the real world. One simple answer is because of chauvinists. It is admirable to support one's belief systems, defending it from attacks from critiques and various others. But being a blind devotee to any ideology in particular has its flaws, that is rejecting the shortcomings of your cherished beliefs. The words of formidable personality Mark Twain resound this idea: "It is difficult to win an argument with an intelligent person, but impossible against a fool". Consider examples from modern politics: when the ruling party tries new schemes that were previously unthought of, and succeeds in bringing some changes, instead of appreciating or even extending a lukewarm symbol of thanks, the opposition party starts baying with lucid comments. This does suggest that it is not always feasible to convince

an opposing party taking part in a dialogue.

Granted that it might be inconceivable to persuade everyone about your arguments, we do not contend that one should not give it a serious try. For example, when preparing for a college presentation about a course lecture to the entire class and professors, running a dry presentation of the exact debate with a group of pals is really beneficial. Not only does it preps us for the actual presentation, but more importantly, it helps us to realize

the real strength and weaknesses of our claims. The human nature lends more easily to defend one's principles, and refute others than vice-versa. Thus, in attempting to convince the opposition, we also try to think of numerous safe-grounds and avenues where our argument stays intact, analyzing it from various angles, and consequently, appropriating suitable modifications to strengthen the same. Just as the previous exemplification suggested, the idea of startups trying to undergo strict inquisitions with angel-investors about the robustness of the product they are pitching serves a similar

role. When selling your idea, you have to defend it from all possible modes of logical, verbal and hypothetical attacks, and if you succeed in doing so, it is indeed a valid argument, at least for the sake of the undergoing debate with the interlocutor.

In sum, the idea that making the opponent's views align with your own might be an admirable endeavor, it is not always pragmatic to do so. There are cases where the practicality of the situation also has to be taken into consideration. Although, there are a bunch of pros in battling the cutting arguments, all of which serve either to augment our understanding of the subject of the matter, or bolster the presented argument, or both.