The following appeared in a health newsletter."A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that numbe

Wearing helmets during bicycle rides can prevent injuries. In the preceding newsletter, the writer emphasized the need for the government more to educate people about bicycle safety than tu urge them on the benefits of wearing helmet. To reinforce his claim, two studies have been cited: the first which nationwide study observed a significant rise in number of riders using helmets in the past 10 years, and the other which concluded that there were 200% more bicyle related accidents during this period. Though the argument may have merit, the hypothesis constitutes of poorly reasoned premises and assumptions, weakened by logical flaws, lacking proper evidentiary support, and based solely on the explications offered, the argument is invalid.

The primary issue with the argument is the lack of substantiatory evidence. Though, there is mention of two studies that had some conclusions pertinent to bicycle riders; sample population demographics, sample size of the study, presence of control group is not mentioned. While, both these surveys were conducted in the past 10 year time span, whether or not these considered the same, or even similar population has to be condsidered as well. The lack of substantiation weakens his claim.

In addition, the author further weakens his stance by making several questionable assumptions. The second survey concluded about the rising number of bicycle related accidents, without discussing about the possible cause of these incidents. Perhaps, the roads were not smooth for travel, or the weather was quite foggy unsuitable for cycling in the region the study was conducted. It maybe the case that the primary cause of these accidents were bad car drivers, or lorry drivers, or both. Without addressing these possibilities, the author is simply extrapolating inferences from suspicious data by precarious

premises.

Granted that the offered conjecture lacks robustness, it is not to say that the entire argument is without merit. The author can significantly improve his claim by providing proper evidence. In addition, all the underlying assumptions that he uses in order to make the final conclusion should be laid out comprehensively. The lack of quantification in the studies cited above should also be resolved to further ameliorate the claim. Finally, to present a cogent argument to the reader he must explicate the implication of why the goverment should urge people to educate people about bicycle safety than on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets, using his insightful analysis.

In sum, the illogical argument in the newsletter has numerous shortcomings. To convince the readers, the writer must be rephrase the argument, fix the logical flaws, offer reasonable justifications for the assumptions inherent in his claim and provide authentic proof to buttress the same. Without making amends to the aforementioned draft, the author is likely to persuade a few people.