Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which

Following one's passion has become one the most hotly discussed aspects of contemporary life. Living life without any templates, guided by the instincts and inspirations of the self is truly an admirable ideology. The "follow your dreams" doctrine is that man pursues endeavors in the lifetime of the fields that he connects with, has a burning rage for, or it adept at. Instead of abiding by the canons and frequent trends, one trails on wanderlusts. Not only does this open new avenues for adventure, it gives us the freedom and everyone innately desires. If man does what he likes, he no longer has to work - implying that work is play, a pleasure. Although, it is not always the case that an impassioned drive lends you all that you want, occassionally, it does provides some dents in the so rosy picture depicted.

Striving in the domains your predilection is one of the paramount modes of jouissance. The reason being, when you put enough hours of dedicated work to a subject, you excel, and gradually you tend to be as perfect as it gets. Excelling in tasks not only serves as an impetus to further propel yourself farther, but, it also provides eternal joy. All revolutionary discoveries of mankind were made by people of supreme indulgence and love for work. A half-hearted attempt by Thomas Edison at inventing the light bulb, would not have likely resulted in success. Furthermore, in most fields of development - arts, natural sciences, economics, humanities. politics, it is the continuous persistance that is entailed in order to produce something extraordinary. A passion for work and an inspiring dream not only facilitates this uphill; task, but also renders this renowned works possible.

My personal account of training in the gym serves as an appropriated example - with months and months of hardwork and dedication, I was possible to lose those 10 pounds of fat that haunted me since I was in grade 5. Had it not been my kindling fire, and the dreams lifting me up, it would not have been reality. In the course of this journey, I also happened to have undergone numerous minor and major injuries: fracture in the wrist, twitch in the ankle, severe damage to the knees, shoulder impeachment, but these only proved to be obstacles in my path, not impossibilities. Had it not been my dreams and the passion, had I been living with "follow the trend, study, work" mentality, all this would not have been possible.

Although, it is true that the "follow your dream" can serve good, it can also damage the subject of not followed wisely. Losing large amounts of money in the stock market is not un

In sum, a "follow your dreams" is not an advice to look down upon, rather to be encouraged. One check has to be kept in mind while undertaking the glorifying path does not cause more harm than profits. "Life is too short to not be lived to the fullest" is a good adage to compound my viewpoint.