Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the buildin

The memo provided by a vice-president of a large company takes the issue of which construction company to choose for their contemplated new building project. He avers that Zeta company would be a better bang for the buck instead of Alpha, citing that previous projects by these companies show Zeta to be the winner: low energy costs, lesser maintenance cost, although, the construction expenses being slightly more. Though the argument may have merit, the author presents an ill-reasoned argument, based on precarious premises and assumptions, lacking any substantial evidences to quantify and prove his hypothesis. Based solely on the claim offered, the conclusion is invalid.

The primary issue with the argument lies in the unsubstantiated premises. The author cites that the Zeta company has 30% more construction costs, 50% less maintenance expenses and consumes lesser energy than the building constructed by the Alpha company. Any comparsion between these three aforementioned costs is absent. Consequently, there is insufficient information to conclude about the performance of these two companies, based on the numbers provided. The performance of both the buildings constructed by Alpha and Zeta has not been comprehensively evaluated. Evidences such as functionality provided, the time for construction, services offered post the inaugaration of these buildings have to be considered.

In addition, the unproven assumptions of the author further compromise the soundness of his assertion. The similarity of the New building project with the formerly built ones has not been mentioned. Perhaps, the novel construction might not resemble the older ones, and the costs will be drastically astray to make any logical conclusions. Furthermore, the writer considers only these two companies for undertaking the new project. These might not be the leading consrtuction companies, or the cheapest ones. Perhaps, the upcoming project might not be viable to be completed by any of Alpha and Zeta, because of the large-scale nature, complexity of the new project.

Granted that the assertion of the author lacks evidentiary support, it is not to say that the entire argument is without merit. To improve his argument, the writer should provide specific numbers rather than ballpark estimates, and a comprehensive analysis gauging the performance of the ex-projects undertaken bby ALpha and Zeta, to start with. Further, he must establish the similarity of the new buildings in light of the previous one, to deduce anything conclusive. In addition, exploring other companies which can serve a similar or possibly better job should be done to set the claim on a sound footing.

In sum, the vice-president draws a general claim without sound reaasoning. No quantification of data, vague assumptions that remain unproven, and logical flaws render his conclusion invalid. In order to convince the reader, he must rephrase his argument, augment claims with rational evidences and explicate the relationships. Otherwise, the claim is likely to persuade a few reasders.