Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The writer concludes that building construction should be more like zeta as compared to he alpha. However, the conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

Firstly, the writer assumes that zeta construction was 30% more than the alpha construction though they have identical floor plans doesn’t have the clear evidences because the land at which zeta company is been spreaded may be much more lesser than the land at which the alpha company has been spreaded. In fact, zeta construction was 30% more might be totally irrelevant to the construction of the building should be more of zeta as compared to the alpha because it depends upon the material used for the construction as well as number of daysit required to built the alpha as compared to zeta because the construction speed depends directly on the number of workers working for the construction. The argument that zeta construction was 30% more than the alpha construction though they have identical floor plans will be strengthened if the writer provided evidence type of material used number of square meter is been spread etc

In addition, the writer assumes that electric consuption is lower of the zeta as compared to the alpha. In fact, the writer does not mention the rate of the electricity at that locality since both the companies are been spread at different regions. The argument would have been strengthened considerably if the writer provided evidence that of the location or the rate of the electricity at that particular locality.

Finally, the writer assumes that mainatances of the zeta is comparitive lower than that of the alpha. The writer provides no evidence, though, to indicate that this is the case. As the argument stands it is highly possible that the size of alpha is larger as a result it required more number of people for cleaning and other purpose Only if the writer produces evidence that the total differences of the mainatces and differences in there mainatainaces does the argument hold good.

In conclusion, this argument depends on certain simplified assumptions about construction more of zeta as compared to alpha. The author could strengthen the argument by discussing other factors beyond electricity maintainances and cost construction