The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The preceding letter to the principal of a private school brings to issue his kid is facing from the school cafeteria. His kid and his friends dislike the low-fat, low-calorie healthy food served by the school cafeteria(Swift Nutrition) and he predicts that this move by the school will backfire causing students to bring unhealthy lunches to school, which shall result in terrible health consequences of the students of Kensington. Although the claim may have merit, it suffers from questionable premises and assumptions, lack of evidentiary support, and based on the information provided the argument stand invalid.

The primary issue with the thesis is the lack of substantiation. Is his kid and few of his friends representative of the entire student population of Kensington school? Perhaps, these children are unfamiliar with the taste of Swift foods because they have not being accustomed to this healthy foods. Or do these students have an unhealthy eating lifestyle in particular--relying on processed foods and junk for most of their nutrition? Do other kids studying at the school not liking the cafeteria also bring not-so-healthy foods? Maybe these students carry healthy wholesome food from home which matches with their taste instead of going to the cafeteria or binge-eating.

Furthermore, the claim of the author is undermined by several unreasonable assumptions he includes in his fallacious argument. Must all students not liking the cafeteria consume unhealthy food? Some children maybe wise enough to realize the importance of eating nutritious foods, others learn the importance of the same by their parents or the school teachers. Even in the scenario that the section of kids disliking the cafeteria foods bring their unhealthy lunches to school, it is not necessary that they shall suffer serious health consequences in future. What if this food has been their staple for their entire lifetime and they are completely accustomed to this eating habit? These questions need to be answered satisfactorily prior to making any bold prediction.

Although the claim has several shortcomings, it is not to say that the entire reasoning is without merit. The watchful parent does have a point in case the students of the school are facing a similar problem by the school cafeteria. And in turn if they respond by consuming junk, processed or packaged food, they shall face unwelcome health consequences in future. Thus to set the claim on sound footing, the writer must provide sufficient legitimate evidentiary support to back his claim and answer necessary questions to counter critiques.

In sum, the entire argument of the author stands invalid.