The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Food plays a very important part in overall development during a child's growth as well as adults. The argument states that, since the inception of Swift Nutrition students have been reluctant to eat food at the cafeteria which will eventually gender negative effects to the health of Kensington students.

Before Swift Nutrition was awarded the contract, parents did not face any complaints from the students about the cafeteria. Most of the students did not carry lunch boxes. But since a year, after Swift Nutrition took over, there has been a rise in the demand of lunch boxes. On talking with other parents, the mentioned reasons were concluded. Also it has come to attention, most of the students have lost weight in this one year which was not previously observed. Is this weight loss a cause due to change in cafeteria vendor? If, the answer is yes, then it is definitely reasonable to demand a change in vendor, in absence of which, the health of the students will suffer.

What is the geographical location of the Kensington Academy? What is the diet pattern of its habitat? The answers to this question can help better evaluate the argument. If it so happens that Kensington Academy is located at a place where it mostly snows throughout the year and where the diet followed happens to be of high fat, high calorie and high protein, then the basis of this argument seems reasonable. A high fat, high calorie diet of the habitats is essential to overcome and survive the cold weather conditions. Also a drastic change in the staple diet will naturally induce feelings of discontent in the new foodstuffs. Ultimately, he children will refrain from eating the new diet. Loss in food consumption is definitely hurt the child's health and thus a demand for change in vendor should be accepted.