A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

Modern food contains a variety of chemicals used for decorative, preservative and other purposes. In order to prevent the humans, and pets from the obvious hazards of these synthesized products, food surveillance organizations demand strict adherence to norms by the manufacturers. In the preceding response, the author claims that the food company is not responsible for the ill reaction of pets who had consumed their pet food because the recalled food samples seemed to contain the chemicals that are approved. Though the argument may have merit, the writer presents an poorly reasoned argument, based on questionable premises and assumptions, and relying solely on the evidences provided, his claim seems invalid.

The primary concern with the contention is the unsubstantiated evidence. He does not cite the results of the study that is mentioned in this argument. Not only that but also the lack of quantification in the claim is bothering. What kind of pets had an ill response to the pet food: if a majority of suffering pets were German Shepherds, maybe the product is not well designed for their consumption, or this pet food company caters poorly with cats if a lot of cats were afflicted .Were the complaints received from a particular segment of the population, or was any specific batch of the food products responsible for such a dreadful mess? The argument lacks any legitimate evidence.

The author further weakens his conclusion by making vague premises and numerous assumptions. Claiming that since the food only contained the approved chemicals, is safe for consumption, is a grave sin. Without assessing the dosage present with the recommended usage of these chemicals, no conclusion can be made. It is quite plausible to for a product to only possess approved chemicals, but in lethal amounts, causing severe medical problems to the consumer. A proper investigation in the exact spectrum of chemical composition has to be undertaken. Combining properties of these constituents and their reactive tendencies can result in the formation of new entities, having an altogether distinct flavor. These novel compounds can be lethal, and possibly be the cause of such mass suffering of the pets.

Granted that the offered explanation of the large scale pet illness is flimsy, it is not to say that the entire argument is without merit. The author can significantly bolster his stance by providing digging further into the research of the food samples. Detailed inquiries regarding the various chemical properties of the samples, their response to these animals has to be duly noted. With a sound research and investigation and a detailed analysis of the same, the claim can present a convincing line of reasoning.

All subjects considered, the writer presents an illogical argument lacking a robust basis. In order to make an impact, he must rephrase his claim, fix the flaws in the logic and provide evidentiary support. Without these overha