A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There are many un proven assumptions in the stated argument. As a result it cannot be firmly concluded that pet food is free of contamination. The following explanation will help to elucidate more clearly.

The most bromide fallacy is assuming the food eaten by the pets who were suffering from illness will contain the same contamination as that of 4 million pounds of pet food that was tested. It is possible that the food manufactured two months ago may contain some harmful ingredients. The processing of food would have been compromised. To exemplify, a person in charge of food processing line would be a malingerer and have not paid proper attention towards the food processing. As a result a fault would have been overlooked and this food was sent to stores. Pets consuming this food are naturally susceptible to illness.

Moreover the testing methods are also doubtable. How can someone be sure that the testing method implemented are good and does not have problems. A bad equipment or faulty equipment showing good results is of null importance. Also, the number of samples tested makes a lot of difference. The dispassion of testing authority is also as crucial as above mentioned factors. Suppose a person is conducting test. He finds that out of 50 samples only 5 have problem. He might neglect checking other samples. In this case a bad samples in further lots will also be given a pass. Hence, further investigation is necessary for reaching a solid conclusion.

The arguments also conclude that only the chemicals were tested. It might be possible that factors causing illness would be other than chemicals. It is likely that pet getting exposed to covering or harmful material on covering would be causing the illness. As we know pet food is usually contained in plastic material. A plastic getting mixed with with dog food might be the reason for illness. Here the further investigation would give the proper notion.

Nonetheless it is also possible that the pets consuming the food might be exposed to some other kind of illness, than one which is induced by eating food. In this food might not be the reason. Some other factors such as environmental factors or air borne diseases could cause vomiting or lethargy. The number of pets reported must be from same area where air borne disease was prevailing. Suppose a complaint was filled by only few owners who lived in certain area then conducting a re-test of dog food would be futile. In this case a proper report of complaints must be studied and analyzed before blaming the dog food company.

Hence, it can be concluded that the argument contains lots of reasoning fallacies. They should be further investigated and then only the conclusion should be drawn. Until then it is wrong to assume that pet food is safe.