Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Arts consist of various forms such as music, dance, paintings, architecture, etc. People feel good when they listen to music or watch some comedy movie. It is necessary that governments should encourage arts but when compared to safety, the later is more important. Therefore, the government should invest in arts but not as much as they invest in military.

"Governments exist to protect us from each other". The famous saying as stated by Ronald Reagan expresses the importance of government. If government didn't existed, humans would have torn each other apart, literally. The greed would have led to eat each other up. As a result, each countries government make sure this doesn't happen and is responsible for protecting its citizen from international as well as domestic threats. Military helps in achieving this. Various agencies employed by American government, such as, CIA, DEA, FBI, exist to protect its people from threats. A lot of funds are needed to ensure their smooth functioning. This budget is allocated to military and defense from the taxes countries collect from its citizen.

Moreover, technological advancements in military is also important. New research is done everyday. Science has helped to develop various advanced weapons which has led to save the human life in warfront. The pyrrhic victory was never acceptable to anyone. The goal of technological advancements in warfare is that loss of human life should always be less. Thus, keeping this in mind new weapons such as human-less drones, automatic missiles, nuclear nukes, etc are developed. If the government would have been hesitant to invest in these development, then it would have proved a drawback.

Also, it is necessary to keep the advancements secret from threats. If the information is leaked to some terrorist group, it may prove deleterious. Suppose a department in military has a breakthrough in the research which can revolutionize the safety to country. If such kind of information gets into wrong hand they can sell it to terrorist organizations for money. Hence, for safety from such threats investing money in keeping things secret is also necessary. Large private and public organizations are given contract by governments to keep things safe and ensure such blunders don't happen. Exemplifying, no body knows what goes on in Area 51 which is known to be the secret military base in Nevada desert.

Coming to other point, arts is as necessary as is military. Along with safety people also demand to listen to good music, watch some good paintings. I myself feel good when I see paintings at exhibition. As a result government should look after its people liberty as well. They should promote the arts by building various museums, theaters, etc. But the amount of money invested should be more in military when compared.

Concluding, arts is no doubt, necessary. But when it comes to security it is at most necessary that government invest in military. People will only to to plays, concerts, music show when they believe they are safe.