Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, b

The author claims that the cause of extinction of large mammal species in the Kaliko Islands

was not due to humans. Unjustified assumotions, far stretched inferences are some of the flaws

in the argument. Moreover, the thesis is too audacious given the lack of substantial evidence

of the claims made thereof.

Absence of symptom doesn't imply that the cause is not present. The unstated assumption of the

speaker is that as there wasn't any contact of humans with the mammalians as there is no evidence.

Bones of the animals, cave paintings, folk songs mentioning giant animals, footprints etc could evince

signs of the humans interacting with the animal species. Given timeline is 4,000 - 7,000 years ago.

Any evidence, if present possibly might have been effaced with the advent of time. Not having being

discovered doesn't refute the existence of these artifacts. The possibility of excavations and expeditions

unravelling these myesteries, unveiling new discoveries cannot be refuted.

Moreover, attributing the cause of extinction to climate and environmental changes due lack of subtantiation

is a highly tenable claim. It is noted that discards of bones of fish were found. If climate change were really

the cause, the fish might as well have gone extinct. Proper theories of enivronment changes, the mechanisms,

its implications on animal species must be warranted before going any further to the conclusion. Also,

any account of verifiable data on the climate changes during that time period is missing. It might well have

been the case that some other powerful species were the cause of the rapid diminshing of the mammals.

Even more so, a virulent pathogen may have spread in this now extinct mammalian population and have been the

cause. This line of reasoning might seem more potent as a climate change, not only affects terrestrial species,

but also the aquatic animals, possibly to a more menacing extent.

In sum, the unjustified assumptions made by the speaker is too large to be credible. These ad-hoc prejudices open a whole world of debate which impedes the vindication of the argument made itself. Proper validation and careful analysis of these biases has to be made before getting down to the conclusions. For all we know, the past is unclear and the thesis averred, even more.