Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this prompt argues that the arrival of Humans in the Kaliko Islands caused the eventual downfall of larger mammals that had resided on the plot of land before their arrival. He/she makes abstract assumptions that offer no delineation into the granular details that might prove his/her position, asserting things such as: A lack of evidence proves that humans could not have caused such a downfall, the carcasses of fish were found but no mammal remains have been manifested and the writer goes onto state that it simply must have been other climatic or environment shifts that caused the specie's decimation.

The prompt states "Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals." This supposition offers evokes an intriguing question: If there is no proof, how are we sure that mammals were on the Kaliko Islands to begin with? There very well may have been an abundance of mammals on this island, but with out any elaboration from the author, the statement is interpreted as nothing more than a supposition. Providing cogent proof that mammals were denizens of the Kaliko Islands emboldens the idea that humans caused their extinction.

Further, the author claims that there has been numerous sites discovered evidencing fish corpes, but no such thing relating to mammals. Surely this represents his/her strongest point, but it offers no insight into any inhabitance of mammals on the island at all. Humans could be solely responsible for large mammals extinctions, but if they arrived after mammals were already inhabitants, the remains of animals who had died before would have been discovered without a doubt. This further questions the idea that mammals were on the island at all. The presumptive statement invokes the notion that mammals may not have been on the island at all before humans arrived.

Lastly, the authors final declaration that the demise of large animals must have been caused by "some climate change or other environment factors" is pure conjecture. It misleads readers without any arguable basis. There is a large discrepancy of proof that calls into question whether large animals were on the island in the first place; no remains were found and somehow these animals stumbled onto an islet in the middle of the ocean. Perhaps these animals migrate together, and managed to make it ashore where they might not have to fight with humans for food. To presume that environmental factors caused the species extinction is misleading.

The author's assertions about the disappearing of the large mammals that existed on the Kaliko Islands may be accurate. Contrastly, he/she presents no verifiable facts, and the assumptions made are too substantial to rely on.