Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Perhaps one of the most thought provoking arguments in the 21st century has been that of educational institutions. In the mark of an era characterized by "disruption" and thinking outside of the paradigm, education has been the one constant throughout. A traditional field focused on teaching students to work towards the jobs that are hiring, it is time that we make a change to this broken industry. The future of jobs is unknown, so it is important that we teach students freethinking and encourage them to follow their passions so they are able to master their respective subjects.

A job is temporary, but a career is built around your passions. There aren't many people who grow up hoping to get an adequate salary package and decent benefits. We are aspirational by heart. We are motivated by success! More often than not, it is those who master their subject that can achieve such goals. In order to become a titan in one's industry, it requires an amalgm of hard work and repetition. This is not for the weak of heart. By learning subjects that we show genuine interest in, it becomes considerably easier to not only learn but to grow. Take Aubrey McClendon, the late CEO and founder of Chesapeake Energy. He had no background in oil and gas, but he decided to take a minimum wage job on an oil field in order to learn. Two years later, he founded what would become one of the largest oil drilling companies in the world. If student's are so bent on finding a safe job, McClendon could have become an accountant. Life is about passion. It is imperative to teach our students to pursure what they are interested in.

It is important to consider the ever changing nature of the job market. Thirty years ago, computer science was a foreign topic. A computer would cost the government millions of dollars to build. Nobody could have predicted that the same amount of computing power would be downsized into our phones in less than half a century. Perhaps even more incredulous is that the cost is pennys on the dollar of what it used to be. Computer science was not a desirable industry. Today? Computer science jobs are four times higher in demand than in supply. The students that were pressured into taking the jobs that were hiring then, are now at risk of missing jobs that are ample today. The world is dynamic; industries are changing daily. If we pressure our young academics to pursue traditional employment routes, we risk losing innovation and free-thinking.

Conversely, it is important to understand that some people are inclined to gravitate towards jobs that are stable and plentiful. An abundance of people will be happy leading a life in a consistent job. Predictable hours, pay and benefits all represent a luxury not afforded by following one's dreams. Nonetheless, it is important to teach students the values of both sides of the equation. Present unbiased facts and let the students decide. The best thing that our educational constituents can do is to stay neutral and teach our academics how to think on their own.

A plethora of people have made great livings by following their passions. After all, the future job industry is just as fluid and unpredictable as we are. Irregardless, some people are inclined to follow the stability of jobs in demand now. It's vital that education does not influence the decision of our youth, but rather teachs them how to make decisions on their own.