The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching is an art. An individual has to make sure that his message is being imbibed by his audience effectively. He has to devise strategies to ensure that his people learn to do the right things in the right way and to achieve such a goal, he would have to pay heed to their actions. Indeed, the best way to teach is to give equal weightage to negative and positive actions.

When a teacher only lauds the positive actions of his students then that is not actually teaching. A student learns best when corrected for the wrong actions he participated in for not repeating them in the future. Take for instance a child who gets an A-grade in mathematics but at the same time has a bad habit of stealing. By simply praising him for his fabulous performance in mathematics and ignoring his wrong deeds would not turn out to be very beneficial for him in the future. This is not only seen at the classroom level but also in the industrial, business and research sectors where there is always a leader who sheds knowledge on his pupils and is ready to correct their actions. By doing so, two cardinal goals are achieved- the first being the low probability of the wrong deed being repeated again and second being the insurance of a better future for the person who commits the wrong action. Hence for the above goals to be realized, emphasis should be given not only to the positive deeds but also to the negative ones as well.

The necessity for praising a person to get the best out of him has become overemphasized these days. We see this fact given the primacy in every aspect of our lives, be it in the case of the children whom we teach or the employees working under us in a corporation to name a few. This has become an axiom for everyone in the world. What has been frequently ignored is the fact that exalting a person too much can make him overconfident and sometimes even insolent. This would be counterproductive. If the employees in the industrial sector are given unbridled appreciation, this would not encourage them to learn new things, but instead, fuel them with arrogance and superiority. Therefore, to make sure that people keep learning and continue making progress, checking them for their wrongs is quintessential.

However, there are different kinds of people everywhere. Some people take criticisms positively and use it to their advantage while there are also those who are weak-hearted and shy, who rely on praise more than criticism to give their best. For such people, paying heed to their good and bad deeds equally is not the most effective way of teaching them. Lauding them too much does not make them overbearing and criticising them to the same extent makes them prone to depression and decreased productivity. In such cases, giving more emphasis on positive actions seems more tenable.

Although, not everyone gains advantage from criticism that is commensurate with the praise showered on them, such exceptions always exist. Nonetheless, teaching is made the most effective when it is a well-balanced alloy of praise and criticism.