Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There is only one thing that is making our lives better day by day, and that is attributed to scientific breakthroughs and developments. It has changed people’s lives for the better and is a valuable asset to a country. Indeed, such development and research should have the full support of the government with minimal encumbrance imposed on its growth.

That scientific progress and development ensure the progress of a country, is beyond reproach. A country is able to have an edge over its competitors by making sure that it is more innovative and scientifically more advanced. One of the cardinal duties of the government of any country is to ensure the security of its citizens. While countries vie for power and hegemony over others, they have to make sure that their military gear and weapons are the most advanced and redoubtable. By supporting scientific research in this area, a nation would be at a massive advantage over the others. Today we hear about the new scientific research and breakthroughs in making nuclear weapons. Countries developing and possessing such ammunitions are no doubt guaranteeing its citizens a safer place to live. Hence, to strengthen the security of any country, it is incumbent upon the government to invest in the scientific research without any hesitation.

Not only does the military reap all the benefits from minimally restricted scientific developments, the citizens do too. Cancer, which is a deleterious disease and is ramifying at a precipitous rate in the world, needs to be researched more to find cures or alternative therapies that would benefit people tremendously. Carrying out research on such diseases is expensive as it requires specialized equipment, trained laboratory personnel, and a well-designed facility to carry out the studies. If restrictions like limited financial support and working space are imposed on such researches, mankind would not be benefitted and the sufferings would continue unabated. Hence, when it comes to the health of the citizens of a country, the government should impose the least restrictions on scientific innovations and developments that make the life of people better.

However, putting little or no restrictions on such developments can also put a country at risk. For ensuring the nuclear weapons are working efficiently, they need to be tested. Since such weapons have radioactive elements, they can pose a serious threat to the environment and also interfere with the health of the denizens. Hence, restrictions like circumscribing an area for testing purposes which is barren and without any human habitation should be imposed. Also, in carrying out medical researches, human subjects are used in the trials for testing the effects of a new medicine or procedure on them. Bioethical restrictions need to be enforced in such cases to ensure the safety of the subjects.

Nevertheless, the aforementioned restrictions are mostly paid heed to before planning out big scientific projects and developments and it is made sure that the advantages outnumber the disadvantages. Having ensured that, the scientific developments should then be carried out with the least restrictions as possible so that people cherish the benefits of it.