Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

On our mother earth, species have gotten extinct or become endangered in the process of evolution. Today human interference and man-made disasters have accelerated such phenomena. Despite the overemphasized role of human activities on endangering and threatening the survival of flora and fauna, natural hazards should also be given some weight. Indeed, protection of endangered species should be sought even if they are threatened not only by human activities since natural disasters are also extant.

The worth of the native flora and fauna is very crucial for society. They are not only a source of the basic human needs, that is, food, shelter, and clothing, but are also a part of the traditions and customs of the society. Hence, it is imperative for the community to protect them and care even more for the species that are becoming endangered. However, by merely holding the view that society can contribute towards protecting its indigenous plant and animal species only when their survival is affected by human interference, significantly undermines the importance of these species in the hearts of the natives. If for instance, a massive volcano erupted and killed a variety of plants and animals, out of which the populations of many highly diminished, it is the responsibility of the society to make amends for it and take care of the existing people that have become threatened by the cataclysmic natural event. Hence, at times of natural disasters, the society has an equivalent responsibility towards protecting its endangered species as it has at times of man-made disasters.

With the advancements in technologies, it has become very easy to predict specific natural disasters like when a meteor will hit the earth and where, which volcanoes are more susceptible to an eruption, and many more. Accordingly, steps can be taken to mitigate any adverse effects of such natural calamities on endangered plants and animals. Hence, it is not tough for the society to provide help in such cases. Therefore, the uncertainty of natural disasters should not act as an impediment towards the protection of the endangered species.

Nonetheless, it should be realized that there are specific natural calamities that cannot be predicted like earthquakes. In such cases, people usually find it challenging to protect species that are on the brink of getting extinct. Man-made disasters are like a slow poison, whose effects can be easily predicted and hence people are more eager to take steps to prevent them.

Given the uncertainties that accompany natural disasters, it does not suggest that people should become indifferent to their effects on threatened species. It is the characteristic of the responsible citizens of the society to take care of the indigenous flora and fauna no matter what affects their survival. If nature has offered us so much, reciprocating the same unconditionally is what is desired from the most intelligent creatures on earth: we, the humans.