Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s contention regarding the inaccuracy of Dr. Field’s work and the reasons for it is rife with errors. Giving no information about the number of children being interviewed by Dr. Karp, the kind of questions be asked by him, and failing to acknowledge the time gap between Dr. Field’s and Dr. Karp’s study are some of the major holes in the author’s argument.

The most crucial factor that would influence the outcome of the interview conducted by Dr. Karp seems vague. The factor being the number of children that were interviewed by him. If the group was very small then it surely brings the accuracy of the results of the study into question. A small group of children surely cannot represent the children of the entire village. Among this group of children, there might be some exceptions who may have been raised by their biological parents instead of the villagers. Such children would be the outliers among the entire children of Tertia. Hence, interviewing and interrogating just a few of them does not prove that Dr. Karp’s study is veracious. Had the author mentioned that Dr.Karp interviewed a large subset of children and given numerical figures for unambiguity and accuracy, then the argument could have become compelling.

Another detail about which we are kept in the dark is the type of interview questions. If the questions were centered around the biological parents of the child then the child would surely talk about them. Even if the child was spending as little as 3 hours with their biological parents the entire day, he would surely have enough details to answer the interview questions. It might also be possible that the villagers could have contributed towards increasing the child’s knowledge about their actual parents. For instance, if a child’s parent was participating in a lot of welfare activities of the village, then surely the villagers would tell the child about the munificent deeds of his parent. Such children might have been a part of the group which was interviewed by Dr. Karp. All of the above clearly undermine the contention of the author of rejecting Field’s study. Hence, even if we knew the kind of interview questions, still the author’s argument would have been fallacious because of the failure of Dr. Karp to keep in mind the aforementioned subtleties in his study.

Finally, we are told that Dr.Field conducted his study in Tertia 20 years ago which is a long time during which the village and the ideology of its natives could have undergone a tremendous change. Therefore, it might be true that Dr. Karp findings are accurate in the research he conducted recently in Tertia however, this does not discount the possibility that Dr. Field’s study was erroneous. Both the studies could be credible and true because of the large gap in time between which they were carried out. Children could now be attending schools and as a result, would be spending less time with the villagers, or there could have been a surge in the crime rate in the last 20 years in Tertia due to which parents could be confining their children at home and thereby spending more time with them. There could be a plethora of reasons that could account for the shift in the nature and attitudes of the villagers in the 20 years’ time. Hence, the author should have also accepted the accuracy of Field’s study keeping the above-mentioned points in mind.

Looking at the fallacies that have been pointed out in the author’s argument, it surely needs to be revised and needs to be supplied with relevant details.