As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue of whether or not people's dependence on technology to solve problems deteriorate their ability to think for themselves is a contentious one. While technology usage has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that the growing dependence on technology does weaken the thinking ability.

First of all, technology has become an inevitable part of everyone's life and one of its critical usage in today's world is smart devices. I would like to point out that people are so involved in the smart devices that they forget about the world around them. For instance, I have noticed several people who could not live without their smartphones even for a minute. This level of addiction would deteriorate the individual at physical and mental levels.

Furthermore, people rely too much on technology for even quotidian tasks that their critical thinking ability gets corroded. For instance, they rely on calculators for performing a basic sum which they could solve in mind. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that if this kind of scenario continues, then people will not be able to proceed at all in the absence of technology.

Admittedly, usage of technology has prone to be advantageous and is omnipresent. This is true especially when technology helps to accomplish tasks faster but people should not always rely on technology. For instance, technology should not reduce one's ability to think instead it should help in keeping the mind sharper.

In conclusion, although the use of technology cannot be completely evicted out of everyday life, people must limit their dependence on it. In fact, we must understand that the primary purpose of technology is to assist us and not rule us.