The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of Movies Galore claims that by reducing the operating expenses at ten of the Movies Galore's video rental stores will improve the profit of the organization. He presents an instance that supports his claim that proved to reduce the operating expenses. However, upon careful inspection, it provides little credible support for the owner's conclusion. Hence, the argument might be considered unsubstantial and flawed.

First of all, the owner asserts that the profit can be improved only by reducing the operating expenses, but he fails to consider that there could be other possible ways to achieve the same. For instance, more people now prefer online video rentals over the actual store rented videos. So, the owner could try to build an online portal that allows people to rent videos online. Another example would be to use advanced marketing strategies. The argument would have been much more convincing if it could shed more light upon why these aspects were not considered to improve profits.

If reducing the operating expenses is the only option that is feasible in reducing the profit, the owner conveys that following a strategy followed by one store would reflect the same result across all the remaining nine stores. In its current form, it implies that closing a store earlier than usual and getting rid of all the movies older than five years would yield a result analogous to all the remaining stores. But, people in any other region might not prefer a store that closes earlier. In addition, some people might have a preference for old movies over new. This proves to be contrary to the owner's intentions. Therefore, the owner needs to provide substantial evidence on whether acting on this assumption would not produce adverse results.

In conclusion, the owner's claim is unpersuasive as it stands. To support his claims, the owner needs to provide more concrete evidence, perhaps with a deeper understanding or a detailed analysis of all plausible options for improving the profits of Movies Galore.