The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In making argument, the owner of Movies Galore assumes that increasing prices of its rental videos decreases its reputation of offering movies at cheaper prices. But we are not given any clarification whether other stores of rental videos were increasing their prices or not. If other stores increased their prices, Movies Galore could also increase its prices to relatively smaller extent. Thus it could still maintain its reputation of selling rental videos at cheaper prices. It is also not mentioned what is the exact reason for decline in their profits. If the reason was increase in store’s maintaining costs like electricity bills or employee wages or rent of their stores, it is obvious that consumers could understand it and thereby increasing the prices shouldn’t contribute to spoiling of their reputation.

If the reason for decline in profits is reduction in their sales, reducing opening hours of stores or reducing its stock doesn’t help to increase their profits. Instead they can adopt effective advertising methods, costumer friendly methods like delivering rental videos to their homes, some gifts to their costumers, friendly salesmen.

In argument the owner just mentioned that the Marston store decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6pm instead of 9pm and by reducing its stock by eliminating movie released before 5 years ago, but there is no clarification whether the store actually increased its profits by adopting such methods. We cannot say that my merely reducing operating expense we can increase our profits, because such methods can decrease sales. For example, there is clarity about the highest sales time of a day. Like there is a probability of students, working consumers buying rental videos after their college or work i.e., mostly at evenings. So, closing the stores at 6pm may reduce its sales by great amount. By eliminating movies that were released 5 years before, they can reduce their sales to some extent and their reputation of selling wide range of videos.

In the arguments the owner assumes by adopting similar methods of Marston store in other 9 stores. They could increase profits. But there are no evidences that lifer style of cities of other 9 stores is exactly similar as Marston. For example, in cities, people tend to shop at evenings rather than at mornings. By closing stores at 6pm, they can reduce their sales to larger extent than in Marston. Even there is no that people buy more recent movies than older movies. The situation can be rather different.

So, instead of reducing its operating expenses, Movies Galore can increase its advertisements, prices to relatively smaller extent, adopt costumer friendly methods, thereby increasing their sales and thus profits.