The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since

The owner of Armchair Video argues that in order to improve profits, it should reduce operating expenses at all stores of organization. The author’s main conclusion based on an assumption that when last month Marston reduced its hours by declining three hours from before and reduced its inventory by no longer stocking any film released more than two years ago. Because of very few complaints received, the owner recommends that we should support such policies at all other Armchair Video, as it play vital role in improving profits. This argument has many unanswered questions, hence it leads to dubiousness. Moreover, this argument has lack of support evidences. It has several flaws in it.

Firstly, the author in the argument assumes as “because of this, after this, therefore” fallacy to draw the conclusion of this argument. Moreover, the author assumes that one thing or strategy applicable and appropriate to one city store will necessarily applicable to other stores. This argument assumes that when Marston store reduced its hours by three hours than before, very few complaints were registered. The author fails to depict and prove relationship between other stores and Marston stores. Moreover, there is not any statistical data of customers who visited the store and how many of them filed their complaints. This premise has lack of evidences.

Furthermore, the author’s fails to prove that raising prices is not a good option to improve profits. It may be a case that raising prices of Armchair Video product is a best way to improve its profits rather than reducing operating hours.

Moreover, the author in this argument make an assumption that after reducing number of operating hours, very few complaints were registered by customers. But, is it necessary that profits were increase ? There is not any relationship mention by the author that reduce in complaints play vital role in improving profits. The author can strengthen his position in this argument by catering relationship between decline in customers complaints and enhancement in profits.

In conclusion, this argument has many unanswered questions and lack of supporting evidences, hence it leads to dubiousness. Moreover, the author in this argument assumes wrong analogy “because of this, therefore, after this” to draw the conclusion of the argument. In addition, it is supposed that in trait applicable and effective to one city store is relevant to other city stores, too. Since the owner fails to prove relationship between improvement in profits and decline in customer’s complaints, the argument seems utterly baseless. To make it compelling and cogent, the author should include all such possibilities ans conditions.