The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore suggests applying a business model which has successfully worked at one of the many Galore outlets, in uniform to all the outlets. However, this might not be the most effective form of remedy required to improve sales as this model has several flaws and unanswered questions to it.

Firstly, the owners stresses that the motto of Movies Galore is to offer movie rentals at great bargains. However, it is important to realize that an offer does not have to be in the form of monetary expenses at all times. The outlets could corroborate with locally dominant stores and offer exciting freebies or incentives rather than direct discounts in an already loss-incurring store. This would be a prudent model wherein the company upholds its reputation of offering bargains to customers without compromising on their profits.

Second, running a business with the same specific ideologies in different areas such as- “shutting down at 6:00 P.M” or “eliminating all movies which are older than 5 years” is an extremely flawed vision and could even turn out to be counter-productive. This is because several questions are to be asked in order to ensure that strategies would suit different regions or areas which have diverse populations and varied culture/mindsets. For example- What is the major sourcing of customers in downtown Mason? Does this replicate in each and every one of the other 9 stores? Does downtown Mason in general shutdown most of its activity by 6:00P P.M? Is this the same generalised pattern which is evident across the different areas in which the stores are located? If the answer to one or more of these questions would be a ‘no’ or even inconclusive in nature, then, bringing about such a generalised change might not have any desirable or expected outcome of greater sales and profits.

To substantiate this point further, consider one amongst the 9 stories, located Uptown. Firstly, evidently from the location, this part of town would probably be bustling even at 9:00P.M, so shutting down this store at 6:00 P.M might actually reduce sales which could be incurred during this period. Second, the population of Uptown might contrastingly consist of middle-aged residents who would rather watch a movie was released a few years ago, rather than a new-aged movie. The company could instead try to compile an inventory of the most famous movies in a particular movies based on cinemas records and various other sources and then work towards making the stock accommodative to that particular area.

Hence, in conclusion, it would indisputably be an imprudent business plan to offer the same solution across various stores with different locations and different kinds of people. Instead, the company needs to come up with a locally sustainable business model that would work within a particular area to better articulate profits and sales.