The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since

To begin with, the author does not tell us the reason of declining profits. In the movie rental enterprise,there are many possiblity could cause this decling, as the customers would like to wath movie online, or there is another strong sompetetor in the market. Hence we can not find the reason of declining ,the author should not take the measure he proposes in this memo, which could bring more troubles in the future.

So let's discuss hie measures. The author suggest to reduce all the ten stores opening time which would close at six in the evening instead of nine. Acutally this is not a wise choice. Firstly, this closing hour may prevent the potential customer who are willing to go to the store after six because of the time after work possiblly.Hence maybe lots of people could go home and rent a DVD on the way meanwhile after a wholeday's working. Secondly,even if this reducing time works , it mere does at a single store locates downtown where mayby full of te poor homeless after work.While whether this sucssess could replicate in the other nine stores is still in question.

More over, as a movie fan, who share lots of common with people around the wolrd like old movies, it would be a tragedy to reduce the overall DVDs relesased five years ago, which is not very far from now, let alone the Choplins' perhaps.So This is another bad choice if the author do not make an exhaustive survey to find out what kind of movies the people around the stores like. In addition, lots of people are not a fan of certain kind of movies like the old , thus ,it would be a catastrophy for all of the consumers.

Finally, the feedbacks were not convincing. Given the owner tells us by the mearsure practiced in the downtown store, they received few complaints about this changing, while there are three possiblities. One, they are really OK with this which the owner is happy to see.Two, there is few consumer in the downtown thus few complaints. I suggest this store should be closed to improve the profit in this situation.Three, which is high possible, there are silent majorities who will leave without a farewell. To be specific, even few complaints do not mean there is little complanits as there maybe a lot of consumers will not go to th movie rental stores anymore with this implement.

In conslusion, I fully comprehend this owner of movie rental stores.But his plans are not well supported by the evidence and facts which should be surveyed carefully.Every boss will worry about the declining profits. In my opinion, the owner should find out why the profits is going down, meanwhile he should make a wide instigation to make clear the ten movie rental stores local conditions, like the environments and consumers' favors.