Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible

While often we see that the main motive of any corporation is to make maximum profits by adopting methods which satisfy the constraints made by law, in a border sense if the corporate even takes responsibility of promoting well-being of societies and environments, it can indirectly contribute to increase in its profits. We can say this by analysing the advantages of corporate social responsibility.

Firstly, if a corporate takes initiatives which serve societies, through such methods it can advertise its products to wider range of people effectively. For example, Lenskart has started an initiative of free eye check-up in many colleges. It’s obvious that students who cannot afford consultancy fees and new spectacles tend to utilize such services. Many students who didn’t know this brand before become aware of this brand. If the students like their service, Lenskart would increase its profits by large amounts. Thus such process helps to serve people and also corporates can invest their funds in effective advertisements rather than wasting their money in traditional advertisements.

Secondly, by adopting to these service oriented methods, corporates can gain consumer trust and good reputation. By gaining consumer trust, they can increase their sales hugely. To exemplify its human nature to buy things only after we believe that the product is efficacious. Beauty products, fruits, electronic goods, bags or anything for that matter, we only buy if we have some trust on the brand. Hence to increase their profits, it is advantageous for the corporates to indulge in corporate social responsibility.

Thirdly, by promoting environment friendly process may be in their production process, corporates can enhance the health of their employees and societies. By just adopting laws they may not create positive vibes in their work culture. If their employees and societies are overwhelmed with the works of corporates, they can buy more products of these corporates. Like instead of spending money on health issues, they can spend it by consuming products of the corporates.

Hence I believe, by promoting social and environmental activities corporates not only help societies, in an indirect way it also benefits them.