As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree to the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement is true and explain how these considerations shapen your positin

While technological inventions such as computers, calculators, household machines replace humans in doing jobs which require menial skills like handwriting, calculation, washing, cleaning; they aids humans in doing complex tasks such as information gathering, connecting people at different places, tracking vehicles, weather broadcasting, online banking and many other internet services faster and effectively. For a mere menial task which has to be done continuously, machines can replace humans: In doing continuous and mundane calculations computers can replace humans and humans can develop algorithms using which computers do these calculations faster and accurately.

We cannot defy the fact that humans have been increasing their abilities to develop or advance technologies which aid them in doing complex tasks which people decades ago thought impossible, like internet services revolutionised human development ; using google maps we are able find the best route to the new destination (I was surprised by google maps when I used it for the first time), faster modes of transport like airways make people to travel throughout the globe, people are able attend meetings in different countries on same day, in Medical fields through Radioscopy, CT scan, doctors are able to do diagnosis of disorders of patient’s body accurately, using Chemotherapy the most dreadful disease cancer can be cured.

Technological inventions even replace humans in doing jobs which put them at dire, like in many Chemical industries, the reactions and chemicals used are hazardous to humans, using technology these hazardous chemical processes can be completely automated in order to reduce human interactions with huge and dangerous equipment. The highly developed automatic controllers can effectively do human jobs in such unsafe processes.

In fact, in process of technological development humans have been encountering new problems which were not present prior to technological development, like global warming and environmental pollution became imperil only after extensive development of automobiles and industries.

So, it can be concluded like it is absurd to say always that, as people rely more on technology, ability of humans to solve problems for themselves decreases. In order avoid deterioration of some abilities of humans due to technological development, extent of usage of technology by an individual can be limited by himself/herself, for example people can walk instead of using vehicles if they don’t have constraints like limited time.