Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While it is responsibility of government to ensure that the major cities are aided with sufficient financial resources, we cannot say that the nation's cultural traditions are preserved primarily in major cities as we often see people in cities are too busy to follow their cultural traditions. In fact, quite often youth of major cities doesn’t even believe, realise the significance of following cultural traditions because transfer of cultural knowledge and logical reasons behind a particular traditional practice is not properly conveyed from elder generations to younger generations.

Firstly, any nation’s culture is reflected by festivals celebrated in the nation. The various rituals of any festival are practised effectively in villages than in cities. To exemplify, Sankranthi has been celebrated as farmer’s festival in India during January. In villages, the harvest of agricultural fields is collected just before the festival and on festival day, farmers worship their domestic animals for helping them in farming, prepare various traditional food recipes and their families celebrate festival together with joy and happiness. Whereas in major cities of India like Hyderabad, Bombay, Chennai etc. the festival day is often treated as any other holiday. People do prepare traditional food but some rituals are not practised. This may be because of change in their life style. Due to technological advancements and developments in cities people cannot preserve their culture as these cultural practices are based on traditional occupations of any nation. In villages we see people doing traditional occupations like farming, weaving, pottery, goldsmith, blacksmith etc. and hence can effectively practise traditional rituals as they can relate to the significant advantages of these rituals pertaining to their life style.

Secondly, the major cities of any country are cosmopolitan: people of various different traditions live together in cities. Due to this the cultural exchange takes place and many new cultures are generated. Cities play important role in evolution of cultural traditions of any country. This process of evolution is also extremely important to make people compatible with their changing lifestyle and to avoid discrimination of various cultural traditions in cities.

Thirdly, the influence of foreign cultures like in terms of clothing, fine arts is seen on cities than on villages due to their less possible interaction with foreign culture. So, to preserve any nation’s cultural traditions, government should aid villages with various schemes. For example in India the traditional weaving and handicraft art is almost extinct. To bring back past traditional glory the government is making various schemes like encouraging the designers to use these fabrics creatively with modern designs to attract people, increasing the reach of these fabrics and handicrafts to people by opening many stalls, making actors as brand ambassadors of these products. But, in order to drive the technological, scientific advancements of any nation, government must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need.