claim: The best part of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing opinion.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend against the doubts and contrasting vies of others does one can really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss extent you agree with the claim and reason on which claim is based

While convincing others in an argument, people endeavour to figure out logical soundness of their viewpoint and use these logical reasons to defend themselves. To exemplify, quite often scientists debate on an issue with their co-members even if they are not very sure about the facts involving in the issue and in process of adding value to their opinions they learn facts prevailing and increase their awareness about an issue. But, often while involving in an argument through critical thinking people end up by identifying fallacious logics in their viewpoint. At such instances instead of defending themselves, they should admit that others viewpoint is correct. For example once my friend argued with me that TOEFL examination fee was INR 12,240 assuming that 1US dollar = 68 INR, but then after googling she realised that 1US dollar = 68.80 INR and agreed that TOEFL examination fee was INR 12,383.10.

Sometimes, by being forced to defend ourselves in an argument we tend to believe wrong logics. In arrogance, we become devoid of intelligence and instead of sticking to optimal solution of an argument we tend to undermine others if they are logically correct. We may not even realise that we are wrong. For example we see often that, in some arguments, politicians become morose and rebuke their opponents even if they didn’t fulfil promises claimed in their agenda.

In certain arguments even after discovering the value of our idea, we cannot convince others even if our logic is lucid, in such situations we need to mollify others at first and then convey our idea. For example in process of realising appropriateness of a theorem, I argued with my teacher in a disrespectful manner and then even after my logic seemed to be true, my teacher was unable to admit it. Afterwards when I asked her to excuse me, for my arrogant behaviour, she was very kind and even appreciated me for being sceptical.

To conclude, in my view, an optimist and intelligent should judge his viewpoint through critical thinking before involving in an argument and then he/she can just convey his/her reasons to stick to a viewpoint. Then, if others doesn’t agree a healthy argument can be made. Best part of an argument is identifying fallacious logics that lead to a viewpoint but not to blame that someone is wrong.