Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Although the above mentioned claim sounds like emphasising the positive effects of a disaster and it may seem to be true. Since, it is human tendency to be indifferent to their obligations. Often people tend to be cautious and work carefully only when they are in pressure of a trouble. Like, students study bundle of books by staying awake whole night before exam and they never try to read a single chapter normally. The fear of occurrence of scandals does motivate police, politicians, normal public to work effectively. The government of any country makes new initiatives, stringent rules to protect it’s people from becoming victims of a scam.

But, firstly, scams do create severe damage in terms of money and lives. To exemplify, many countries have been suffering from the scams done by giant corporates. Like in United States, company WorldCom in 2002, recorded it’s expenses of nearly 3.8 billion USD as future investments and exaggerated it’s profits even though the company’s profits were decreasing continuously. Due to this many of it’s employees lost their jobs and the investors lost their money. Food processing industries prone to do scandals to fake that they meet stringent nutritional standards. For example, India banned Nestle company’s Maggie (instant noodles) after finding that the product contains more than permitted amount of lead. Many Chemical industries does fake that they follow environmental regulatory rules. The harmful chemical spills in Vedanta, a chemical industry in Tamil Nadu of India caused large number of deaths in past two years, this company is accused of submitting wrong records about the production of harmful chemical to environmental board.

Secondly the claim in some sense exhort people to do unethical practices. Like, frauds can justify their mistakes by above mentioned claim. We often see terrorists justifying their criminal actions such as causing genocide and pronouncing that they are not guilty of creating such disasters.

To indulge positivity in people we can figure out positive effects of scandals and say that scandals remind people to stay responsible, but we cannot claim that they are very useful to people.