Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While in fulfilling their responsibility towards students, educational institutions can deter their students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, educational institutions are also expected to fulfil their responsibility in developing the fields that have been ignored.

Firstly, if educational institutions encourage their students to pursue only specific fields, the other fields will never see the phase of development. To exemplify, in India, the software field is booming at current scenario, many software start-ups have been evolved as giant companies. Google, Microsoft, Apple have been expanding its branches and have been collaborating with many software companies in India. So, in prestigious educational institutions like IITs and NITs students are interested to study only specific branches like Computer-Science, Electrical Engineering, Information Technology and by the end of their education most students are expected to get a job. But, very few students who study branches like Chemical Engineering, Material and Metallurgical Engineering, Civil Engineering get job after graduation and other unemployed students tend to pursue higher-education in software fields or study these fields in foreign universities. Due to this technological development in these fields in India is very poor. Actually, it’s an inter connected, exacerbating process, due to less demand in these fields, students are afraid to study these fields and these fields are not progressed, and devoid of progress in these fields supress students from studying these fields.

Secondly, institutions can encourage the students to form inter-disciplinary collaborations, this way the under-developed fields can be exhorted, and the students in developing fields can gain profound skills in accomplishing new tasks. The fields like Process Control, System Identification form best examples for this. In these fields Chemical Engineering students learn concepts of Numerical Techniques, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence and apply these to Chemical processes to make them automatic.

Although, the above mentioned points reasons for educational institutions to encourage students to pursue undeveloped fields, in many developing countries where unemployment is a severe problem, we can understand the responsibility of the educational systems to make their students successful. Under such circumstances educational institutions of any country can demand government to establish new industries, foreign collaborations in these fields.