Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position state examples.

While obeying laws is basic responsibility of an individual, depending on circumstances one can become an outlaw if he/ she perceives injustice due to unjust laws. History has shown us that it is not eccentric for riots to breakdown when a group of people suffer injustice, to exemplify, the cruel Czars rule in Russia came to an end after devastating World War 1. The orthodox practices like Sati, Child marriage which treated as social norms were eradicated from Hinduism by persistent efforts of socialists like Raja Ram Mohan Roy in India, The abolition of these practices laid foundations for gender equality in India.

Under certain dilapidated situations, we can breach laws and stick to our core moral values. Examples: Due to unexpected drought if agricultural fields get destroyed in a region, the concerned official can sanction more than permitted amount of reservoir water to that region. Any individual can break traffic signal to save a patient in his/her vehicle.

In any country, laws which were just and applicable for a period of time in past can become unjust at present. Like, in India social discrimination against Dalits (Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes) was rescinded as Dr. B.R Ambedkar drafted Reservation policy in constitution of India in 1949; though this policy eradicated the socio-economic inequalities in consequent years, at present scenario it also helps Dalits to contrive competitive processes of getting jobs. Due to this the other caste’s people for whom Reservation policy is not applicable may suffer injustice. In such situations every individual in a society should strive for equal justice. Amendments to existing laws often take place to ensure justice is done to all sectors of people at present scenario.

However, the suddenly broken frenzied rebellions cause unintended deteriorate effects even if the goal of rebellions is for justice. So, non-violent, properly planned, effectively analysed methods should be implemented to seek justice. For example Gandhi through non-violent efforts brought independence to India, which could not be done by many rebellious leaders of India whose futile, violent methods implemented by them.