Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people feel that students are more influenced by their teachers. Indisputably, this is true because students admire several characteristics of their teachers, to mention a few, their patience, level of dedication, knowledge depth and so on. Some teachers serve as high ideals for their students. Nevertheless, friends have a greater influence in the life of students because they spend most of the time together. Further, friends understand a student's problem better than the teachers. Thus, I agree and would like to argue that students are more influenced by their friends.

First of all, a student spends most of his/her time with friends and hence, they can influence the student's life more than anyone else. For example, I was a single child to my parents. As a consequence, I like to spend most of my day with friends as I used to feel lonely at home. My parents used to call and enquire my friends whenever I did not open up to them. This is because they know it for a fact that I spend most of my time with my friends and do not hide anything with them. Therefore, it is obvious that a student is well understood by his/her friends than their parents and has a significant influence in their life.

Secondly, friends will be of the same age group and it is always more comfortable to share your feelings with a person who also faces similar situations as oneself. Teachers could provide a mature solution here. However, one might feel quite hesitant to share his/her feeling with a teacher. On the other hand, he/she might not have to give a thought before sharing about any opinion to friends. One can be sure that friends are not going to judge them, whatsoever. For instance, one of my friend had some feelings for a boy in our class and she shared it only with me as I am her best friend. Ofcourse, she cannot think of sharing the same information with a teacher as she will be scared of being judged.

Finally, there is a saying in my mother tongue that "Half of the victory is ours, the remaining victory is through our friends". This means that whatever we try to accomplish in life, our friends serve as our bridge to reach success. Ultimately, friends are there to motivate us when we fall and cheer for us when we succeed. It is our friends who determine the path we chose in life and guide us through it with their precense and motivation.

In conclusion, I feel that friends are the main factor that influence a student's life more than teachers. Perhaps, teachers can become friends and in that case, it will really enhance their impact in the student's life and shape their life better.