The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager claims that the television station must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. He presents evidence to support his claim including frequency of complaints received from viewers who are concerned about the station's coverage of weather and local news. He further adds that several local businesses have terminated their advertising contracts. However, upon careful inspection of the evidence, we can observe that it provides little credible support for the manager's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered flawed and unsubstantial.

First of all, the manager assumes that the complaints received from viewers implies the viewers' concern about the amount of time the local and weather news was aired. But, it fails to offer proper evidence to support this position. For instance, the complaints that were received could be about the quality of the content that was telecasted in the local and weather news. It could have been the case that the content was lacking accuracy. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it shed more light upon the major concerns of the viewers about the coverage.

Additionally, the manager mentions that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts during the late-night news program. In its current form, it implies that the advertisers cancelled their contracts only based on the reduction of air time on local and weather news. However, there is no evidence that the advertisers cancelled their contract only on the basis of the stated issue. Therefore the manager should provide strong evidence such as a questionnaire that was answered by the cancelled contractors on the reason for cancelling the contract before taking actions based on this assumption.

Although, the manager would not be necessarily wrong to assert that the television station must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, if he could provide more evidence on the statistics such as a survey conducted among people to know their opinion, it could lead to a better understanding of the problem at hand.

In conclusion, the manager's claim is unpersuasive as it stands. To support the manager's claim, he needs to provide more concrete evidence, perhaps with a reliable survey or a detailed analysis on the factors contributing to the loss of advertisers or viewers.