The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue of whether or not the society must prepare its younger generation for leadership in government, industry or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition is a contentious one. Indisputably, cooperation is an essential trait of a good leader in any field. Nevertheless, the benefits of being competitive outweigh the benefits of being cooperative because the nature of the world requires one to be competitive to be successful in any field. Thus, the society must prepare its younger generation for a competitive world.

First of all, I would like to point out that competition is essential for healthy progress in any field. To illustrate, when I was in school, only two or three students were competitive in getting a good score in the exams. However, one of our teachers announced a prize for the top 10 best performance. Everybody became very enthusiastic and started preparing well and the average performance of our class grew from 60 percent to 80 percent. Consequently, it is obvious that competition is essential for healthy progress in any field.

Additionally, competition is omnipresent and all the individuals must be trained to handle it in life. If an individual is raised without instilling the sense of competition, then he/she might never be able to become a leader. For instance, there was a girl in my neighborhood who did not have competitive skills but nominated herself for the post of colony president. Due to her lack of competitive skills, she lost the election to a competitive opponent. Based on both common senses and practical thinking, it is essential to be competitive to be a good leader in any field.

Admittedly, cooperation is required among individuals in certain situations, especially in taking a united decision for the society. However, lack of competitive skills is not gonna solve the issue because, for strong ideas to be generated, competition is the foundation.