The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director claims that Super Screen must create more public awareness about its movies and therefore, should allocate a greater share for advertising next year. The argument presents evidence that supports this claim including a report about fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies last year despite the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers. However, upon careful inspection, we can observe that the evidence provides little credible support to the director's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated and flawed.

First of all, the advertising director readily assumes that the increase in the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers definitely reflects the quality of Super Screen movies, but does not provide additional supporting evidence to corroborate his claim. For instance, there are several thousands of online movie reviewers today that we cannot be sure if each review is credible. Further, there are reviewers who do paid promotions for a movie. Therefore, the argument will be more convincing if it shed more light upon how the movies were perceived by the majority of the audience.

Further, the advertising director claims that the problem does not lie with the quality of the Super Screen movies but with lack of public awareness that movies of good quality are available. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate the clear correlation between the two events. For instance, people might not like the movie for several reasons such as a personal preference. The director's claim that this happened only because of the lack of public awareness is not supported by evidence enough. Therefore, the advertising director's assumption could produce adverse results.

Additionally, the advertising director notes that a greater share of its next year budget must be allocated to reach public through advertising. However, he does not present the current share of the budget that has been allocated for advertising. In addition, the argument does not present instances that prove that he has considered all the possible options before taking this decision, that advertising is the only way to improve public reach. The argument must answer all of these questions to better understand the problem at hand and make an informed decision.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To support his claim, the argument must provide strong supporting evidence such as the credibility of movie reviews, quality of the Super Screen movies and a survey of what people currently expect in Super Screen movies.