Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

In life some people argued that by listening to other's experiences such as experiences from family or friends is the best way to learn about how to live your life. However, some hold their belief that in order to live your life you need to learn from your previous mistakes and using your own experiences as a teacher. In this essay I will compared about the advantages between those two and which I think is more preferable to use.

First of all, listening and learning from other's experiences is a wonderful way to learn about how life works and how we need to take action about it. This is because they have more experiences than ourselves. This could take form in a stories from our grandparents or our parents on what should you do in certain situation in your lifetime and how to act accordingly. They have been in a situation that we haven't so we don't need to go through what they have done, with them telling their stories to us we can conclude their story and learn a valuable lessons from it.

Secondly, learning valuable life lessons by your own experience is also an another way we can learn about life. This way we have been through the experience either it's enjoyable or painful and we can learn from it first hand solving whatever problem that comes with it and it will prepare us if we ever encounter the same experience. My personal example will illustrate this statement. About 10 years ago I fell in love with my classmate in high school, but I don't have a courage to tell her that I love her because I feel shy and afraid that I will get rejected. As time goes on, it's time for me and her to graduate from high school. However, I still don't have a courage to tell her that I love her, so we part ways and never seen each other again. I feel heartbroken because I never had the chance to tell her my feelings. Now I fell in love with my co-worker that will move to another country, with my previous experience I will not going to let her slip away and I tell her how I feel about her. She turns out accepting my feelings and cancel her plan to move to another country. We're now living together and happily married. This shows that learning through your personal experience will ensure that you won't make the same mistake twice.

In conclusion, from my aforementioned explanation I dare to conclude that the best way to learn life lessons is from your own personal experiences. Because by living through that experiences it will shape you as a person in life by looking back and ensure that you know what to do when you meet a familiar situation in the future and what to do in that situation.