Plants can provide food, shelter, clothing or medicine. What is the one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Coming from Indonesia we have many different varieties of plants, some provide food, shelter, and medicine. But the most important of them all is Rice because it supplies our people with food and economy importance, and keeping the balance of the country.

Rice in Indonesia is a staple food and it comes from rice plant, there’s a saying that “You haven’t eat if you haven’t eat rice” because rice is so important to supply energy to Indonesian people to do their job and their daily activities. Not only to human, rice also provides food for farm animals, chicken and poultry will consume the rice grain and for cattle they will consume the excess plant that has been separated from the grain.

Not only for food rice is also a market commodity. For a country that makes rice as their staple food there will be a market for buying and selling rice. Rice is a huge commodity especially in rural areas, farmers would plant rice on their rice fields in large quantities and when it’s time to harvest it they would separate the grain from the plant. Once they collect enough grain to sell they will sell it to the market and it would generate income for them and for the area from tax. Not only to rural area rice is also a national commodity for export to another country and generates income for the country economy.

Rice also plays an important part of keeping the country stability because if there’s not enough food there will be an uprising and demonstration that could potentially tear down the nation and ruin the economy. Making sure there’s enough rice for everyone is important for my country stability and economy.

To summarize, rice in Indonesia is important because it’s a staple food for the people and food for farm animals aswell, rice is a market commodity for the rural areas and the country itself, and keeping the country stability.