The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, the editor recommends that Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine for there are several disadvantages, such as injuries, less studying time, and so on.

The editor assumes that 40,000 of young players suffered injuries is a large amount, but he doesn’t provide readers what the total number of children under nine participating in youth-league sport is. It’s likely that there are 1,000,000 people taking part in the athletic activities, and the injure rate is only 2.5 percent, which looks like those activities are safe.

The editor also assumes that the sample in several major cities is equivalent to Parkville. However, we’re not sure how many teams in the league in Parkville, and it’s possible that the amount is lower than those in big cities. Consequently, to children participating in the athletic activity, they don’t feel any psychological pressure when exercising. What’s more, having some pressure isn’t necessary bad for children for sometimes pressure can motivate them to perform better during the competition than the usual practice. On the other hand, he only points out students playing soccer have the pressure. How about other students joining other categories except for soccer? It’s possible that not all the sporting activity is competitive.

The editor quotes education experts’ data that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Even though the athletic activities indeed deprive students of studying time, there’s no concrete evidence showing that these students perform worse than other students only concentrating on academic. In addition, the editor doesn’t provide readers with the individual health conditions of two groups of students. It’s likely that those students working on studying suffer from obesity.

To sum up, before considering the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, he needs to give more information to ensure that this decision is made by careful analysis.