The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may seem that Parkville should distounce organizing youth league sports for children under nine as its disadvantages outweighs disadvantages. But there is lot of weaknesses in the argument.

It is stated that over 40,000 young players suffered injuries, but total number of young players who took part in youth-league sports is not mentioned. As total number of players is not mentioned,it can not be determined what percentage of childrens suffered injuries. Total enrolement in competition can be anywhere from thousands to millions of players.

Furthermore, 40000 players means injury to a very small proportion of total players. Seriousness of these injuries is never mentioned, maybe these injuries are innocous and are similar to small injuries childrens suffers regularly due to playing.

Moreover, Youth league soccer reported psychological pressures exerted by parents and coaches but it is not asked to the childrens, how they have handled these pressure situations. Pressure situations like these might help childrens to cope better with pressure in in tense situation like exams. These situations will help childrens to prepare for higher level of sports under 12 or under 14 championship.

Education experts say that long practise sessions for these sports take away time that can be used for academic activities.It is not mentioned when this competition takes place. Most of the athletic competition held in summer holidays where childrens has ample time for extra-curriculum activities. Maybe competition takes place at acamdic season time, but still childrens spend lot of time