To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Earlier human being used to live in wild, but as the time progressed, human beings being the most intelligent living species started living in colonies, cities or villages that is a society. People belonging to different society differ in cultural,social, emotional and mental behavior and style.

In order to study characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Major cities are those cities that are the backbone of a country or society. These cities are most important for social and economic development of country. As most of the large industries and companies has headquaters in these cities and they act as managing trade within the country. These cities are most responsible for influencing the style and beliefs of people. As these cities as seen as symbol of mordernisation and development, beliefs and styles prevailing or adopted by people of big cities are adopted by other people thruogh tv, radio etc.

Furthermore, Most of the role models who are responsible for changing or influencing society lives in these areas. For instance,in India most of the politician resides in new delhi whereas actors resides Mumbai. Similarly, most of the politicians in USA live in Washington and actors in Los Angeles.

ON contrary, it can be said that minor cities and rural areas have different cultural, social traditions. But, as lot of people from these areas move towards big cities in search of job and better life,there is significant no. of migrants in big cities.So, the different cultural and social traditions can also be studied.