The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, the author recommends Parkville to stop organizing athletic competitions for children below the age of nine. To support the recommendation, the author points out that young players suffered severe physical and mental injuries due to sports, and that time occupied by sports has affected the players' academic performance. However, the author makes several unsubstantiated assumptions that need to be addressed before Parkville could accept or reject the recommendation.

In the process of reasoning, the author assumes that the psychological pressure feedback from the youth-league soccer players in several major cities can be used to represent for the young players in Parkville. Apparently, the assumption needs to be further evaluated in two ways. Firstly, there comes the question whether the studied youth-league soccer players are representative of players specialized in other sports. Perhaps soccer is highly valued in the area where the interviewees stay, thus the pressure is relatively higher. Secondly, the study conducted in several major cities is not necessarily applicable to Parkville. For example, soccer might not be popular in Parkville, or the soccer league is only open to teenagers above nine years old. Without considering these factors, we could not conclude that the study can be used to indicate the possible situations in Parkville.

Another hidden assumption behind the argument is that the time used for sports practice, if stopped, will be utilized for academic activities. There are many other activities that children would like to do if they have extra free time. For instance, perhaps they might spend the time playing video games which is a widespread problem among children, or perhaps they might use the time for traveling if some of them are travel lovers. The author should consider these possibilities carefully, otherwise the assumption of shifting time for academic activities might not sound valid.

Last but not least, one more assumption that is also import for the argument relates to the recommendation the author made. The author suggests stopping atheletic competitions for children under nine because of the outweighing disadvantages. However, without comparing the advantages and the shortcomings of ceasing the sports matches, we could not draw the conclusion that the shortcomings are overwhelming. In addition, even if so, there are other possible solutions rather than completely shutting down the competition. For example, the sports organizers could provide safer protections for the kids, or could reduce the frequency of the matches. Unless properly weighing the pros and cons behind the recommendation, and taking other alternative ways into account, the decision-maker in Parkville might not be convinced to carry out the measure.

In conclusion, even though the author proposes a possible solution to reduce injuries for youth players under nine in Parkville, he or she should provide more supporting evidence for the assumptions mentioned above. These include, but are not limited to, the scope and validity of the study, the alternative choices for more spare time, and the comparison of the advantages and disadvantages.